weekend in Tamala

On the Easter long weekend Dad and I went to Tamala Station to go fishing and spearfishing. For the first few days the wind was strong which made it pretty hard to fish. On one of the afternoons I was fishing off some rocks and a 2-3 foot shovel nose ray took my bait, it was a quick fight,and I landed it and sent it home safely.

On the same afternoon Dad suggested we try fish at a camp called Snapper Rocks, the first few casts were unsuccessful with only little fish. I decided to cast into a little gutter that I could see in the sand and straight away I hooked up. It was another quick fight and when I got the fish to the rock I was stoked as it was a 54cm pink snapper. We fished that spot for about another hour with out much luck. But we persisted and I was rewarded when my rod went off. It was a bit of a harder fight but when I eventually got the fish into view it was a 5 foot bronze whaler shark.

The next night we went back to the same spot and straight up Dad got a pink snapper that was 60cm and while Dad was putting it on the ice in the car I hooked up to something reasonable, when I got it up I had to self net it, and it ended up being a 52cm pink snapper. I got better, as again while Dad was putting that one in the car I hooked up to another good pink snapper. It was size but we had enough in the bag so we let it go.

Afterwards I was getting a bit bored so put out a big bait and it didn’t take long before I was hooked up to something decent which, when I got it in,was a 5-6 foot shovel nose ray.

A bit later in the night I hooked into a little bronze whaler which ended the night. Unfortunately that was our last night and the next day we headed home.

2 thoughts on “weekend in Tamala

  1. I can’t help wondering if there are any fish left in the sea Harry?

    A terrific post. Remember to change paragraph when you change time – later, that afternoon etc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *